Skip to main content
Email Subscription

To sign up for email updates from Macomb County or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your email address. If you would like to subscribe for text alerts please select Text Updates in the drop-down menu.

Board of Commissioners

Commissioner JULIE MATUZAK (D)




District 12

Clinton Township



Commissioner Julie Matuzak was elected in November 2020 to her first two-year term as a County Commissioner. She represents Clinton Township as the District 12 Commissioner.

Matuzak’s career before joining the BOC was focused on public service, addressing issues such as wages and benefits, the right to organize, access to educational opportunities and racial justice. She was able to work on these issues through her positions as a Congressional Aide for former Congressman David Bonior; the Executive Director of the local Democratic Party; Executive Director of the Interfaith Center for Racial Justice (ICRJ); and the Political Coordinator/Editor for the American Federation of Teachers – Michigan (AFT-MI). Currently, Matuzak is retired working a part-time job as an office manager for a small manufacturing company.

As a Commissioner, she is committed to transparency and accountability in decision making.  She wants to ensure County services are provided in the most efficient, ethical and inclusive ways for Macomb residents. Matuzak, 67, is a single adoptive mother to her 25-year-old daughter Allie. She has resided in the Clinton Township/Mount Clemens areas for the past 40 years. She is the President of the Macomb Cultural and Economic Partnership, a local non-profit group committed to bringing art and cultural exchanges to the community; and serves as the Secretary for Green Michigan, a non-profit organization that donates and plants trees and other plants in the community.


Macomb County Board of Commissioners

Macomb County Administration Building

One South Main, 9th Floor, Mount Clemens, MI, 48043

Phone: (586) 469-5125

Commissioner Julie Matuzak

Clinton Township, MI, 48035

Phone: 586.746.6653